When life hands you lemons….

Image The age old line, “When life hands you lemons, make lemon-aid.”

“I believe that if life gives you lemons, you should make lemonade… And try to find somebody whose life has given them vodka, and have a party.” – Ron White

When life gives you lemons, make lemonade” is a proverbial phrase used to encourage optimism and a can-do attitude in the face of adversity or misfortune. “Lemons” in this expression is used in the informal sense of the word, to indicate an unfortunate or inadequate situation, a meaning which probably stems from the sour and acidic taste of unsweetened lemon. “Lemonade” on the other hand, is a sweetened form of this same acerbic fruit, and so in the context of this expression, conveys the potential for pleasure and opportunity in seemingly bad situations.

Life can be a bit of a grind at times. We all have our up moments and our down times. I tend to forget at tiimes when I am down that we all have those bits in life. It all comes down to what you do in response in such events. A  little story to help us all remember.

I once went on job interview where upon arrival I parked my car, got out, locked the door and immediately locked my thumb in the door. My keys were already in my purse. I yelled for help but no one came. People just looked at me and kept walking. I finally managed to twist and turn and get my keys out of my purse. I went ahead and went into the interview for a receptionist position. During the interview the interviewer asked me to take a typing test. I explained that I couldn’t take the test because of my thumb. I offered to come back the next day to take the typing test. The interviewer got me a cup of ice water and I soaked my thumb while we continued the interview. The next day I got a call from the company. I was hired without a typing test. They said anyone who could stay as calm and collected as I was with a thumb swollen and bruised was someone they certainly wanted to run their front office. I was with the company for three years and left as Office Manager. – Bobbie M.

Leave a Reply

